RESNET Standards

To achieve its goal of setting the standards for quality of rating services, RESNET has adopted the Mortgage Industry National Home Energy Rating Standards. The standards set the national procedures for home energy ratings. The standards focus on three areas:

  • Rating Program Administration (Chapter One)
  • Rater Training and Certification (Chapter Two)
  • Technical Guidelines (Chapter Three)

The RESNET standards are recognized for:

  • Accreditation of rating providers, rater training providers, and rating software tools
  • Verification of energy savings for energy efficient mortgages (EEMs)
  • Verification of a home's energy performance for EPA's ENERGY STAR Homes Program
  • Performance option for energy code compliance in 16 states
  • Verification of energy performance in state utility benefit program funded residential energy efficiency programs in 9 states

RESNET's Standards