Certified RESNET Instructors

Certified RESNET Instructors recognized by RESNET must provide documentation to RESNET that they meet the minimum requirements for that designation. These instructors work under a training providership to help provide the training that rater candidates are required to successfully complete in order to become certified by an accredited rating provider.

Rater trainers recognized by RESNET must provide documentation to RESNET that they meet the minimum requirements for that designation. Providers utilizing Trainers must confirm that those individuals are listed on this directory each year. The following individuals have been reported to RESNET as qualified RESNET Trainers:

William J. Adamson
ACC Consulting
19450 State Highway 249
Houston, TX 77070
Phone: 17204153037
Email: wadamson@arcxis.com

Joshua Anderson
TopBuild Home Services
475 N. Williamson Boulevard
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
Phone: 386.262.3680
Email: joshua.anderson@topbuild.com

Mike Barcik
Southface Energy Institute
241 Pine St. NE
Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone: 404.391.1613
Email: mikeb@southface.org

Eric Bjerre
Jordan & Skala Engineers
1250 Salford Street SE
Palm Bay, FL 32909
Phone: 321.408.1885
Email: ebjerre@jordanskala.com

Eric A. Boyd
Residential Science Resources
1345 Corporate Center Curve
SUITE 200
Eagan, MN 55121
Phone: 651.200.3429
Email: eboyd@arvcis.com

James Brauer
Jordan & Skala Engineers
17855 North Dallas Pkwy, Ste 320
Dallas, TX 75287
Phone: 469.385.1616
Email: jbrauer@jordanskala.com

Derin Candas
US-EcoLogic
911 Maryland Drive
Irving, TX 75061
Phone: 972.579.2000
Email: deirn.candas@us-ecologic.com

Stephen P. Carr
TopBuild Home Services
475 N Williamson Blvd
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
Phone: 386.846.9155
Email: stephen.carr@topbuild.com

David A. Chasar
Florida Solar Energy Center
1679 Clearlake Rd
Cocoa, FL 32922
Phone: 321.638.1453
Email: dchasar@fsec.ucf.edu

Sara Collier
Southern Energy Management
76 Ponchartrain Street
Fuquay Varina, NC 27526
Phone: 919.520.0152
Email: sara@southern-energy.com

William E. D'Arrigo
ICF International
9300 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22301-1207
Phone: 508.233.3512
Email: will.darrigo@icf.com

Aaron Davenport
TopBuild Home Services
125 GROESBECK LN
LEANDER, TX 78641
Phone: 407.801.2023
Email: aarondavenport@mac.com

Sara DeVico
Building Efficiency Resources
PO Box 1769
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 800.399.9620
Email: sdevico@theber.com

Brett Dillon
Dillon Group, Inc.
PO Box 406
Geronimo, TX 78115
Phone: 423.838.5095
Email: brett@thedillongroupinc.com

Connor J. Dillon
Dillon Group, Inc.
PO Box 406
Geromimo, TX 78115
Phone: 423.838.5171
Email: connor@thedillongroupinc.com

Jamie Dovell
PEG LLC
3975 Fair Ridge Drive
T15s
Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone: 703.934.2777
Email: jdovell@pegenv.com

Matt S. Dovenbarger
Southern Energy Management
5908 Triangle Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27617
Phone: 919.730.8356
Email: matt@southern-energy.com

Clayton R. Farmer
Bluegill Energy Management
23603 Kingston Ridge Way
Katy, TX 77493
Phone: 281.802.1224
Email: cfarmer@bluegillenergy.com

Sandy R. Gallo
Top Build Home Services
475 N. Williamson Blvd
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
Phone: 386.846.7904
Email: sandy.gallo@topbuild.com

Sam P. Galphin
Performance Point
6537 Huspeth Rd
Harrisburg, NC 28075
Phone: 704.361.8600
Email: sam@theperformancepoint.com

Aaron Gary
TEXENERGY INC.
911 Maryland Drive
Irving, TX 75061
Phone: 972.579.2064
Email: aaron.gary@texenergy.org

Paul Gay
US Eco Logic
1029 Serel Drive
Matthews, NC 28104
Phone: 214.504.5537
Email: gayp@texenergy.org

Matt Gingrich
Energy Diagnostics, Inc.
405 E Archer Way
Valparaiso, IN 46383
Phone: 219.263.8667
Email: mattg@energydiagnostics.net

Emelie C. Glitch
Performance Systems Development
950 Danby Rd, 201P
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 315.515.8161
Email: ecuppernell@psdconsulting.com

Benjamin J. Graham
Energy Logic, Inc.
11986 W 13th Ave
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303.521.0489
Email: ben.dragonflyconsulting@gmail.com

Sean Gray
Everblue Training
8720 Camberly Rd
Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone: 800.460.2575
Email: ebts@everblue.atlassian.net

Jenna R. Grygier
Southface Energy Institute
935 Burns Dr SW
Atlanta, GA 30310
Phone: 740.262.5845
Email: jenna.grygier@gmail.com

Jerry D. Hackney
Alert Residential Inspection
118 Yorktown Rd
Ardmore, OK 73401
Phone: 817.808.0274
Email: jhackney@outlook.com

Steven M. Hargis
SkyeTec
9570 Regency Square Blvd, Suite 410
Jacksonville, FL 32225
Phone: 904.515.8193
Email: shargis@skyetec.com

Darrell L. Hayes
SkyeTec Training Center
9570 Regency Square Blvd.
Suite 410
Jacksonville, FL 32225
Phone: 904.805.2401
Email: dhayes@skyetec.com

Jason Helm
Texas Home Energy Professionals
PO Box 63
Argyle, TX 76226
Phone: 817.312.8769
Email: jason@txenergypro.com

John A. Hensley
Building Performance Solutions
11 YORKTOWN CT.
Suite 350
FRONT ROYAL, VA 22630
Phone: 540.683.6936
Email: johnh@bpsconsultant.com

David M. Horton
Sol Design + Consulting
651 Fairview Road
Williamstown, KY 41097
Phone: 859.750.3851
Email: hortonbrothers@gmail.com

Mark R. Hutchins
Conservation Services Group
36 Silver Dawn Road
PO Box 382
Campton, NH 03223
Phone: 508.328.2668
Email: mark.hutchins@clearesult.com

Mark Jabaley
Above and Beyond Energy
PO Box 3372
Wilmington, NC 28406
Phone: 910.398.7301
Email: mark@aboveandbeyondenergy.com

John Johnson
Tacoma Energy
PO Box 1528
Westerville, OH 43086
Phone: 614.899.8990
Email: john@tacomaenergy.org

Jonathan Jonathan
Washington State University Energy Program
905 Plum Street SE
Olympia, WA 98501
Phone: 13609532101
Email: jonesj@energy.wsu.edu

Joseph (Josh) R. Keohane, III
SkyeTec Energy Rating Services
9570 Regency Square Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32225
Phone: 904.903.8791
Email: jkeohane@skyetec.com

Abe Kruger
Kruger Sustainability Group
333 Adams St
Decatur, GA 30030
Phone: 404.480.4600
Email: abe@skcollaborative.com

Tei Kucharski
Florida Solar Energy Center
1679 Clearlake Road
Cocoa, FL 32922
Phone: 321.638.1437
Email: tkucharski@fsec.ucf.edu

Leslie Lazareck
Home Energy Connection, LLC
5509 Villa Lucia Ct
Las Vegas, NV 89141
Phone: 702.451.8630
Email: les@homeenergyconnection.com

Galo LeBron
Ei Companies
2570 South Miller Lane
Las Vegas, NV 89117
Phone: 702.365.8080
Email: galo@energyinspectors.com

Polly S. Ledvina
PSL Integrated Solutions
2375 Bolsover
Houston, TX 77005
Phone: 713.825.7136
Email: pledvina@pslintegrated.com

Anthony Lisanti
ALEC, LLC
15 N. Mill Street
Suite 218
Nyack, NY 10960
Phone: 18455353035
Email: tony@integralbuilding.com

C. T. Loyd
ATS Engineers, Inspectors & Surveyors
4910 West Highway 290
Austin, TX 78735
Phone: 817.721.0293
Email: ctloyd@live.com

David J. Lyle
Home Energy Concepts Corporation
P.O. Box 7342
McMinnville, TN 37111
Phone: 931.668.7277
Email: dave@homeenergyconcepts.com

Donnie Lyons
Fox Energy Specialists
3301 West Fwy
FT Worth, TX 76107
Phone: 817.546.0160
Email: dlyons@foxenergyspecialists.com

Ethan MacCormick
Performance Systems Development
950 Danby Road, Suite 201-P
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 315.246.6894
Email: emaccormick@psdconsulting.com

Chris McTaggart
Building Efficiency Resources (BER)
P.O. Box 1769
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 800.399.9620
Email: cmctaggart@theber.com

Noe Montalvo
DPIS Builder Services
58 Corinth Court
Elgin, SC 29045
Phone: 832.723.0803
Email: noem1017@yahoo.com

Clayton Morris
DPIS
19450 TX 249
Houston, TX 77070
Phone: 832.860.8610
Email: cmorris@arcxis.com

Craig Mountfort
Texas Energy Consultants
738 Highway 6 S, Suite 900
Houston, TX 77079
Phone: 832.326.8462
Email: cmountfort@bluegillenergy.com

Greg Nahn
Slipstream Group, Inc.
431 Charmany Drive
Madison, WI 53719
Phone: 608.729.6850
Email: gnahn@slipstreaminc.org

Robert Pegues
U.S. Eco Logic, Inc./TexEnergy Solutions
911 Maryland Drive
Irving, TX 75061
Phone: 972.579.2023
Email: robert.pegues@us-ecologic.com

Rob Poole
AHERO
16360 University Drive
Forney, TX 75126
Phone: 972.342.7430
Email: robp@reagan.com

Eric Powell
Cornerstone Energy Conservation Services
1320 McKinley Ave, Suite B
Columbus, OH 43222
Phone: 567.876.1606
Email: ericpowell35@gmail.com

Sharla H. Riead
Accurate Rater Network by Hathmore Technologies
11601 Orchard Rd.
Kansas City, MO 64134
Phone: 18162245550
Email: sharla@energysmartinstitute.com

Ricky Sandlin
Burgess Construction Consultants, Inc
1255 W15th St
Suite 900
Plano, TX 75075
Phone: 214.888.7310
Email: rsandlin@burgess-inc.com

Robert F. Schildgen
Priority Energy LLC
538 Busse Hwy
Park Ridge, IL 60068
Phone: 312.767.9047
Email: rob@priorityenergy.com

Sean Shanley
Viridiant
1431 W. Main Street
Richmond, VA 23220
Phone: 804.225.9843
Email: sean.shanley@viridiant.org

Christopher Smith
EnergyLogic, Inc.
PO Box N
Berthoud, CO 80513
Phone: 970.988.0692
Email: christopher.smith@nrglogic.com

Tommy M. Spain
SkyeTec Training Center
9570 Regency Square Blvd
Suite 410
Jacksonville, FL 32225
Phone: 904.866.3704
Email: tspain@skyetec.com

Eurihea Speciale
Building Efficiency Resources (BER)
PO BOX 1769
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 800.399.9620
Email: especiale@theber.com

Josh Spence
PEG LLC
3975 Fair Ridge Drive, Suite T15S
Fairfax, VA 20115
Phone: 703.934.2777
Email: joshsp@pegenv.com

Bob J. Spermo
Bullseye Home Inspection & Energy Solutions
16210 Revello Dr
Helotes, TX 78023
Phone: 210.385.1209
Email: bullseyebuildingconsultants@gmail.com

Kelcey Sykes
EnergyLogic
301 Mountain Ave
Berthoud, CO 80513
Phone: 720.232.2877
Email: kelcey.sykes@nrglogic.com

Dylan M. Tindall
15 lightyears Inc
350 S Ronald Reagan Blvd
Longwood, FL 32750
Phone: 407.488.5618
Email: dtindall@15lightyears.com

Douglas Walter
Kansas Building Science Institute
200 Zeandale Rd.
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785.537.2425
Email: kbsi@cox.net

Bryan Wiggins
Performance Systems Development
950 Danby Road
Suite 201-P
Ithaca, NY 14805
Phone: 336.579.4211
Email: bwiggins@psdconsulting.com

Cindy Zeis
Performance Systems Development
950 Danby Road
Suite 201-P
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 267.761.0148
Email: czeis@psdconsulting.com

The following information outlines the minimum requirements to achieve certification as a Certified RESNET Instructor (204.1).

Completion of a minimum of 16 sixteen (16) hours of a RESNET approved adult education program. The following trainings shall be recognized by RESNET for meeting this requirement:

  • USGBC Faculty Training
  • EcoBroker National Instructor
  • Corporate training credential
  • Secondary education teaching credential
  • Teacher preparation courses from accredited post-secondary education institution
  • Teaching experience at an accredited post-secondary education institution

OR

  • Other professional adult learning institution or corporation recognized by RESNET

A passing score on each of the following tests:

After passing the tests, the candidate must complete the following application to be certified by RESNET as a RESNET Instructor and be listed on the Directory of RESNET Instructors. Click here to access that application

TESTING

RESNET staff has the responsibility of administering the RESNET QAD/Instructor test. This test is required for individuals to serve as RESNET Provider Quality Assurance Designees and trainers for RESNET Accredited Training Providers.

The test must be proctored by an independent party at a neutral location. It is the responsibility of the tester to secure the independent proctor and location before applying to take the test. For more information about proctoring exams click on RESNET Proctoring Policy.  Note that on April 17, 2020 RESNET adopted Temporary Emergency Procedures for Proctoring tests during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The test is a three-hour timed test with 100 multiple choice questions. The passing score is 80. The test is scored immediately upon completion. The test is open book. Testers may use printed resources as well as web resources.

The cost of the test is $150, payable only by Visa or MasterCard when the tester signs on to take the test. Fees associated with the independent proctor or test facility are the responsibility of the tester.

Technical Specifications:

  • Please see compatibility requirements below
  • Windows 7 or later,MAC OSX 10.9 or later,Linux.
  • Latest version of Safari, Chrome, Firefox, Edge, and IE11.
  • Reliable Internet connection
  • Note: This test cannot be taken on mobile or tablet devices.

RESNET QAD/Instructor Test Categories

The RESNET QAD/Instructor Test’s questions are divided into the key categories of building science and home energy ratings. The following are the categories of the test questions and the percentage of questions in each category that are contained in the test:

  • General 7%
  • Health and Safety 10%
  • Building Science Topics 10%
  • Insulation 10%
  • Heating and Cooling Systems 10%
  • Domestic Water Heating Systems 7%
  • Appliances and Lighting 7%
  • Air Leakage 11%
  • Conditioned Air Distribution Systems 10%
  • Ventilation 8%
  • RESNET Rating System 10%

How the RESNET QAD/Instructor Test Was Developed

Early in the process, every item in RESNET’s question bank was edited and reviewed by volunteer Subject Matter Experts (SME) with the guidance of a psychometric consultant. This step alone Improved the test by simply eliminating poorly worded question stems and using plausible-but-definitely-not-correct distractors.

Once the item bank was updated with new and improved questions, RESNET’s psychometric consultant created two new fixed-form exams. This is a change from the previous test methodology, in which question items were randomly assigned (weighted by category) from a database. The primary reason for moving away from this method is that with a random collection of questions, one Candidate may draw a more difficult set of questions than another. For the new test, passing scores were determined through a Pass Point Study consistent with procedures adopted in the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing (AERA, APA, NCME, 1999) and with standards published by the National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA). With training and guidance from the psychometric consultant, volunteer SMEs applied the Modified-Angoff procedure to rate the difficulty of every item in the bank by responding to the following question: “What percentage of candidates who are just barely qualified for certification will answer this item correctly?” After statistical analysis of the SME responses, the passing score of 80 was recommended by the psychometric consultant for both test forms.

RESNET QAD/Instructor Test Study Guide Outline

All of the questions in the national rater test were supported by publications and web sites. The following are source documents for the national rater test:

  • Residential Energy, John Krigger
  • ACCA Standard 12
  • Minneapolis Duct Blaster and Blower Door Manuals, The Energy Conservatory or Retrotec Blower Door and Duct Testing Manuals
  • RESNET website, especially the links to:
    • Energy code compliance
    • RESNET Mortgage Industry National Home Energy Rating Standards
    • ANSI/RESNET/ICC Standard 301-2014 + Addenda
    • ANSI/RESNET/ICC Standard 380-2016 + Addenda
    • Formal Technical Interpretations
  • Handbook of Fundamentals, ASHRAE
  • Manual J, Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)

Please remember, this is a national test and may cover topics that are not addressed in detail in a particular state’s program.

Retest Policy

In the event of failure of the QAD/Instructor Test, please note our policy regarding retesting below:

  • First failure:. User will be blocked for 30 days before being able to try again
  • Second failure:. User will be blocked for 6 months before being able to try again.

Test Application

Policies and Procedures for Certified RESNET Instructors

RESNET has adopted the following procedure for individuals posted on the Directory of Certified RESNET Instructors:

  1. Individuals must be listed on the Directory of RESNET Instructors in order to teach rater training courses.
  2. RESNET Instructors must reapply annually to remain posted on the directory. In order to maintain the listing, qualified individuals must annually complete the online Application to Renew/Update Listing on Directory of Certified RESNET Instructors.
  3. In the event that an individual on the list ends their affiliation or employment with the company on their listing, they must update their contact information in order to remain listed. RESNET will remove individuals upon notification by the listed company that they are no longer affiliated. Such individuals must submit the application to renew/update with updated contact information in order to reinstate their listing.
  4. RESNET standards require that all Certified RESNET Instructors shall annually meet the requirements for professional development described in RESNET Standards section 204.2 and shall indicate which professional development requirements were fulfilled on their annual application.

Minimum Requirements for Renewing RESNET Instructor Certification

Professional Development for Rater Instructor (204.2):

  1. RESNET Instructor Renewal (204.2):
  • Rater Instructors shall complete a two-hour RESNET roundtable each year and also every three years:
  • Document 12 hours of attendance at RESNET Conferences or other conferences approved by RESNET and
  • Complete 18 hours of RESNET pre-approved Professional Development courses delivered by RESNET Accredited Training Providers or other events or venues approved by RESNET. Additional documented hours of attendance at RESNET Conferences qualify under this provision

(Professional Development requirements for RESNET Certified Instructors will be changing January 1, 2018 per addendum 24.)

A person that is both a Certified RESNET Instructor and Quality Assurance Designee shall have to complete both the two-hour RESNET roundtable for a RESNET Instructor and the two-hour roundtable for Quality Assurance Designees. RESNET Instructors and QA Designees selecting the conference or Professional Development option need only comply with the 12-hour requirement one time, i.e. 12 hours is not required for each position.