Certified RESNET Instructors

Certified RESNET Instructors recognized by RESNET must provide documentation to RESNET that they meet the minimum requirements for that designation. These instructors work under a training providership to help provide the training that rater candidates are required to successfully complete in order to become certified by an accredited rating provider.

Rater trainers recognized by RESNET must provide documentation to RESNET that they meet the minimum requirements for that designation. Providers utilizing Trainers must confirm that those individuals are listed on this directory each year. The following individuals have been reported to RESNET as qualified RESNET Trainers:

BER Admin
Building Efficiency Resources (BER)
PO Box 1769
Brevard, NC 28212
Phone: 800.399.9620
Email: info@theber.com

Joshua M. Anderson
TopBuild Home Services
475 N. Williamson Boulevard
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
Phone: 386.304.7526
Email: joshua.anderson@topbuild.com

Mike Barcik
Southface Energy Institute
241 Pine St. NE
Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone: 404.604.3620
Email: mikeb@southface.org

Nicholas Barry
PEG LLC
3975 Fair Ridge Drive, Suite T15S
Suite T15S
Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone: 703.934.2777
Email: nbarry@pegenv.com

Eric A. Boyd
DPIS Engineering, LLC dba DPIS Builder Services
1345 Corporate Center Curve Suite 200
Eagan, MN 55121
Phone: 651.200.3429
Email: eric.boyd@dpis.com

James Brauer
Jordan & Skala Engineers
17855 North Dallas Pkwy, Ste 320
Dallas, TX 75287
Phone: 469.385.1616
Email: jbrauer@jordanskala.com

Michael Browne
Energy Raters of Massachusetts, Inc.
2 Woodlawn Street
Amesbury, MA 01913
Phone: 978.270.3911
Email: mike@advancedbuildinganalysis.com

Stephen Carr
TopBuild Home Services
475 N Williamson Blvd
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
Phone: 386-846-9155
Email: stephen.carr@topbuild.com

David A. Chasar
Florida Solar Energy Center
1679 Clearlake Rd
Cocoa, FL 32922
Phone: 321.638.1453
Email: dchasar@fsec.ucf.edu

Bob S. Chomko
BSC, Ltd
3043 56th St S
Gulfport, FL 33707
Phone: 630.323.0123
Email: bob@energysaver1.com

Jonathan Coulter
Advanced Energy
909 Capability Drive, Suite 2100
Raleigh, NC 27606-3870
Phone: 919.857.9016
Email: jcoulter@advancedenergy.org

William E. D'Arrigo
ICF International
9300 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22301-1207
Phone: 508.233.3512
Email: will.darrigo@icf.com

Aaron Davenport
TopBuild Home Services
1351 Glastonberry Rd
Maitland, FL 32751
Phone: 407.801.2023
Email: aarondavenport@mac.com

Brett Dillon
Dillon Group, Inc.
PO Box 406
Geronimo, TX 78115
Phone: 423.838.5095
Email: brett@thedillongroupinc.com

Connor J. Dillon
Dillon Group, Inc.
PO Box 406
Geromimo, TX 78115
Phone: 423.243.7928
Email: connorjdillon@icloud.com

Matt S. Dovenbarger
Southern Energy Management
5908 Triangle Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27617
Phone: 919-730-8356
Email: matt@southern-energy.com

Robert J. Duteau
Kansas Building Science Institute
141 S Erie St
Wichita, KS 67211
Phone: 316.253.2018
Email: rob.kbsi@cox.net

Sean Evensen-Shanley
Viridiant
1431 W. Main Street
Richmond, VA 23220
Phone: 804.225.9843
Email: sean.evensen-shanley@viridiant.org

Clayton R. Farmer
Bluegill Energy Management
23603 Kingston Ridge Way
Katy, TX 77493
Phone: 281.802.1224
Email: cfarmer@bluegillenergy.com

Colleen Fitz-Gerald
Green Your Home LLC
4699 Kittredge St
Unit 1923
Denver, CO 80239
Phone: 720.628.7290
Email: greenyourhomedenver@gmail.com

Tom G. Flanagan
Group14 Engineering
1325 E 16th Ave
Denver, CO 80218
Phone: 202.577.1671
Email: tflanagan@group14eng.com

Sandy R. Gallo
PEG, LLC
2909 Sime Street
New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
Phone: 631.830.2221
Email: srgallosr@gmail.com

Sam P. Galphin
Performance Point
6537 Huspeth Rd
Harrisburg, NC 28075
Phone: 704.361.8600
Email: sam@theperformancepoint.com

Aaron Gary
TEXENERGY INC.
911 Maryland Drive
Irving, TX 75061
Phone: 972.579.2064
Email: aaron.gary@texenergy.org

Paul Gay
US Eco Logic
1029 Serel Drive
Matthews, NC 28104
Phone: 214.504.5537
Email: gayp@texenergy.org

Megan Gilman
North 39 Energy/Active Energies
P.O. Box 1434
Edwards, CO 81632
Phone: 970-227-0272
Email: megan@north39energy.com

Matt Gingrich
Energy Diagnostics, Inc.
405 E Archer Way
Valparaiso, IN 46383
Phone: 219.263.8667
Email: mattg@energydiagnostics.net

Emelie Glitch
Performance Systems Development
124 Brindley Street, suite 4
Ithaca, NY 14519
Phone: 315.515.8161
Email: ecuppernell@psdconsulting.com

Benjamin J. Graham
Energy Logic, Inc.
11986 W 13th Ave
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303.521.0489
Email: ben.dragonflyconsulting@gmail.com

Jerry D. Hackney
Alert Residential Inspection
21 Yorktown Rd
Ardmore, OK 73401
Phone: 817.808.0274
Email: jhackney@outlook.com

Ricky Hall
BSPT
8410 Grandel Forest Way
8410 Grandel Forest Way
Louisville, KY 40258
Phone: 502.296.2188
Email: heatmanhall@gmail.com

Jason Helm
Texas Home Energy Professionals
PO Box 693
Haslet, TX 76052
Phone: 817.312.8769
Email: jahelm@gmail.com

John Hensley
Building Performance Solutions
1934 Old Gallows Rd.
Suite 350
Vienna, VA 22182
Phone: 877.831.5061
Email: johnh@bpsconsultant.com

David M. Horton
Sol Design + Consulting
501 East 13th Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone: 859.750.3851
Email: hortonbrothers@gmail.com

Ronald E. Hughes
HERS, Inc.
4 Ken Circle
Little Rock, AR 72207
Phone: 501.353.0605
Email: ron@hersinc.com

Mark R. Hutchins
Conservation Services Group
50 Washington Street
Westborough, MA 01581
Phone: 508.328.2668
Email: mark.hutchins@clearesult.com

Mark Jabaley
Above and Beyond Energy
PO Box 3372
Wilmington, NC 28406
Phone: 910.398.7301
Email: mark@aboveandbeyondenergy.com

Judd Jensen
ACC Consulting
210 N Park St
Suite 1
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone: 928.226.0056
Email: judd@e3energyllc.com

Aaron Johnson
Environmental Protection Agency
1023B Dunnington Place
West River, MD 20778
Phone: 540.819.0838
Email: johnson.aarons@epa.gov

John Johnson
Tacoma Energy
PO Box 1528
Westerville, OH 43086
Phone: 614.899.8990
Email: john@tacomaenergy.org

Dallas L. Jones
Green Training USA, LLC
1868 Dyouville Lane
Atlanta, GA 30341
Phone: 800.518.1877
Email: dallas@greentrainingusa.com

Jonathan P. Jones
Home Builders Association Tri-Cities
10001 W Clearwater Avenue
Kennewick, WA 99336
Phone: 509.735.2745
Email: jonathan@hbatc.com

Jonathan Jones
Washington State University Energy Program
925 Plum Street SE, Building #3
Box 43165
Olympia, WA 98504-3165
Phone: 509.735.2745
Email: jonathan@hbatc.com

Jonathan P. Jones
Washington State University Energy Program
10001 W Clearwater Avenue
Greenacres, WA 99336
Phone: 509-735-2745
Email: NWrater@energy.wsu.edu

Brannon King
DPIS Engineering, LLC dba DPIS Builder Services
1600 East Hufsmith Road
Tomball, TX 77375
Phone: 832.731.3768
Email: brannon.king@dpis.com

Abe Kruger
Kruger Sustainability Group
333 Adams St
Decatur, GA 30030
Phone: 404.480.4600
Email: abe@skcollaborative.com

Tei Kucharski
Florida Solar Energy Center
1679 Clearlake Road
Cocoa, FL 32922
Phone: 321-638-1437
Email: tkucharski@fsec.ucf.edu

Bonnie Lalka-Morehead
Absolute Green
5840 Twin Lakes Rd
Cheboygan, MI 49721
Phone: 309.360.1011
Email: bonnie@absolutegreen.net

Leslie Lazareck
Home Energy Connection, LLC
5509 Villa Lucia Ct
Las Vegas, NV 89141
Phone: 702.451.8630
Email: les@homeenergyconnection.com

Galo LeBron
Ei Companies
2570 South Miller Lane
Las Vegas, NV 89117
Phone: 702.365.8080
Email: galo@energyinspectors.com

Polly S. Ledvina
PSL Integrated Solutions
2375 Bolsover
Houston, TX 77005
Phone: 713.825.7136
Email: pledvina@pslintegrated.com

Anthony Lisanti
ALEC, LLC
15 N. Mill St
Suite 218
Nyack, NY 10960
Phone: 845.535.3035
Email: tony@integralbuilding.com

C. T.. Loyd
ATS Engineers, Inspectors & Surveyors
4910 West Highway 290
Austin, TX 78735
Phone: 817.721.0293
Email: ctloyd@live.com

David J. Lyle
Home Energy Concepts Corporation
P.O. Box 7342
McMinnville, TN 37111
Phone: 931.668.7277
Email: dave@homeenergyconcepts.com

Donnie Lyons
Fox Energy Specialists
3301 West Fwy
FT Worth, TX 76107
Phone: 817.546.0160
Email: dlyons@foxenergyspecialists.com

Ethan MacCormick
Performance Systems Development
124 Brindley Street, Suite 4
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 315.246.6894
Email: emaccormick@psdconsulting.com

Chris McTaggart
Building Efficiency Resources (BER)
P.O. Box 1769
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 800-399-9620
Email: training@theber.com

Noe Montalvo
DPIS Builder Services
10120 Two Notch Road #12
Columbia, SC 29223
Phone: 832.723.0803
Email: noem1017@yahoo.com

Clayton Morris
DPIS Engineering, LLC dba DPIS Builder Services
1600 E. Hufsmith
Tomball, TX 77375
Phone: 832.860.8610
Email: clayton@dpis.com

Clinton C. Mountfort
Polarity Energy Solutions
3 Black Spruce Court
Spring, TX 77389
Phone: 713.594.9974
Email: clintonmountfort@gmail.com

Craig Mountfort
Texas Energy Consultants
738 Highway 6 S, Suite 900
Houston, TX 77079
Phone: 832.326.8462
Email: cmountfort@bluegillenergy.com

Greg Nahn
Slipstream Group, Inc.
431 Charmany Drive
Madison, WI 53719
Phone: 608.729.6850
Email: gnahn@slipstreaminc.org

Jaime Oldmixon
National Center for Appropriate Technology
3040 Continental Drive
Butte, MT 59701
Phone: 406.207.0237
Email: joldmixon@homeenergyservice.net

Bruce R. Oxendale
Everblue
134 Tyler Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
Phone: 412.486.7634
Email: bruceo@everbluetraining.com

David Pedrick
Southface Energy Institute
241 Pine St NE
Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone: 404.604.3637
Email: dpedrick@southface.org

Robert Pegues
U.S. Eco Logic, Inc./TexEnergy Solutions
911 Maryland Drive
Irving, TX 75061
Phone: 972.579.2023
Email: robert.pegues@us-ecologic.com

Rob Poole
AHERO
16360 University Drive
Forney, TX 75126
Phone: 972.342.7430
Email: robp@reagan.com

Eric Powell
Cornerstone Energy Conservation Services
1320 McKinley Ave, Suite B
Columbus, OH 43222
Phone: 567.876.1606
Email: ericpowell35@gmail.com

Sharla H. Riead
Accurate Rater Network by Hathmore Technologies
11601 Orchard Road
Kansas City, MO 64134
Phone: 816-224-5550
Email: qa@accuraterater.com

Ricky Sandlin
Burgess Construction Consultants, Inc
1255 W15th St
Suite 900
Richardson, TX 75075
Phone: 214-888-7310
Email: rsandlin@burgess-inc.com

Robert F. Schildgen
Priority Energy LLC
538 Busse Hwy
Park Ridge, IL 60068
Phone: 800-737-2299
Email: rob@priorityenergy.com

Chris D. Schwarzkopf
Energy Diagnostics Inc
405 E Archer Way
Valparaiso, IN 46383
Phone: 219.464.4457
Email: chris@energydiagnostics.net

Erik M. Sowers
Residential Science Resources
1345 Corporate Center Curve
Eagan, MN 55121
Phone: 651.200.3405
Email: erik.sowers@residentialscience.com

Tommy M. Spain
SkyeTec Training Center
9570 Regency Square Blvd
Suite 410
Jacksonville, FL 32225
Phone: 904.866.3704
Email: tspain@skyetec.com

Josh Spence
PEG LLC
3975 Fair Ridge Drive, Suite T15S
Fairfax, VA 20115
Phone: 703.843.1514
Email: joshsp@pegenv.com

Robert J. Spermo
Bullseye Home Inspection & Energy Solutions
16210 Revello Dr
Helotes, TX 78023
Phone: 210.385.1209
Email: aibpstandards@gmail.com

Kelcey Sykes
EnergyLogic
301 Mountain Ave
Berthoud, CO 80513
Phone: 720.232.2877
Email: kelcey.sykes@nrglogic.com

Douglas Walter
Kansas Building Science Institute
P.O. Box 1264
Manhattan, KS 66505
Phone: 785.537.2425
Email: kbsi@cox.net

Cindy Zeis
Performance Systems Development
124 Brindley St.
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 267.761.0148
Email: czeis@psdconsulting.com

The following information outlines the minimum requirements to achieve certification as a Certified RESNET Instructor (204.1).

Completion of a minimum of 16 sixteen (16) hours of a RESNET approved adult education program. The following trainings shall be recognized by RESNET for meeting this requirement:

  • USGBC Faculty Training
  • EcoBroker National Instructor
  • Corporate training credential
  • Secondary education teaching credential
  • Teacher preparation courses from accredited post-secondary education institution
  • Teaching experience at an accredited post-secondary education institution

OR

  • Other professional adult learning institution or corporation recognized by RESNET

A passing score on each of the following tests:

After passing the tests, the candidate must complete the following application to be certified by RESNET as a RESNET Instructor and be listed on the Directory of RESNET Instructors.

TESTING

RESNET staff has the responsibility of administering the RESNET QAD/Instructor test. This test is required for individuals to serve as RESNET Provider Quality Assurance Designees and trainers for RESNET Accredited Training Providers.

The test must be proctored by an independent party at a neutral location. It is the responsibility of the tester to secure the independent proctor and location before applying to take the test. For more information about proctoring exams click on RESNET Proctoring Policy.  Note that on April 17, 2020 RESNET adopted Temporary Emergency Procedures for Proctoring tests during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The test is a three-hour timed test with 100 multiple choice questions. The passing score is 80. The test is scored immediately upon completion. The test is open book. Testers may use printed resources as well as web resources.

The cost of the test is $150, payable only by Visa or MasterCard when the tester signs on to take the test. Fees associated with the independent proctor or test facility are the responsibility of the tester.

Technical Specifications:

  • Please see compatibility requirements below
  • Windows 7 or later,MAC OSX 10.9 or later,Linux.
  • Latest version of Safari, Chrome, Firefox, Edge, and IE11.
  • Reliable Internet connection
  • Note: This test cannot be taken on mobile or tablet devices.

RESNET QAD/Instructor Test Categories

The RESNET QAD/Instructor Test’s questions are divided into the key categories of building science and home energy ratings. The following are the categories of the test questions and the percentage of questions in each category that are contained in the test:

  • General 7%
  • Health and Safety 10%
  • Building Science Topics 10%
  • Insulation 10%
  • Heating and Cooling Systems 10%
  • Domestic Water Heating Systems 7%
  • Appliances and Lighting 7%
  • Air Leakage 11%
  • Conditioned Air Distribution Systems 10%
  • Ventilation 8%
  • RESNET Rating System 10%

How the RESNET QAD/Instructor Test Was Developed

Early in the process, every item in RESNET’s question bank was edited and reviewed by volunteer Subject Matter Experts (SME) with the guidance of a psychometric consultant. This step alone Improved the test by simply eliminating poorly worded question stems and using plausible-but-definitely-not-correct distractors.

Once the item bank was updated with new and improved questions, RESNET’s psychometric consultant created two new fixed-form exams. This is a change from the previous test methodology, in which question items were randomly assigned (weighted by category) from a database. The primary reason for moving away from this method is that with a random collection of questions, one Candidate may draw a more difficult set of questions than another. For the new test, passing scores were determined through a Pass Point Study consistent with procedures adopted in the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing (AERA, APA, NCME, 1999) and with standards published by the National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA). With training and guidance from the psychometric consultant, volunteer SMEs applied the Modified-Angoff procedure to rate the difficulty of every item in the bank by responding to the following question: “What percentage of candidates who are just barely qualified for certification will answer this item correctly?” After statistical analysis of the SME responses, the passing score of 80 was recommended by the psychometric consultant for both test forms.

RESNET QAD/Instructor Test Study Guide Outline

All of the questions in the national rater test were supported by publications and web sites. The following are source documents for the national rater test:

  • Residential Energy, John Krigger
  • ACCA Standard 12
  • Minneapolis Duct Blaster and Blower Door Manuals, The Energy Conservatory or Retrotec Blower Door and Duct Testing Manuals
  • RESNET website, especially the links to:
    • Energy code compliance
    • RESNET Mortgage Industry National Home Energy Rating Standards
    • ANSI/RESNET/ICC Standard 301-2014 + Addenda
    • ANSI/RESNET/ICC Standard 380-2016 + Addenda
    • Formal Technical Interpretations
  • Handbook of Fundamentals, ASHRAE
  • Manual J, Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)

Please remember, this is a national test and may cover topics that are not addressed in detail in a particular state’s program.

Retest Policy

In the event of failure of the QAD/Instructor Test, please note our policy regarding retesting below:

  • First failure:. User will be blocked for 30 days before being able to try again
  • Second failure:. User will be blocked for 6 months before being able to try again.

Test Application

Policies and Procedures for Certified RESNET Instructors

RESNET has adopted the following procedure for individuals posted on the Directory of Certified RESNET Instructors:

  1. Individuals must be listed on the Directory of RESNET Instructors in order to teach rater training courses.
  2. RESNET Instructors must reapply annually to remain posted on the directory. In order to maintain the listing, qualified individuals must annually complete the online Application to Renew/Update Listing on Directory of Certified RESNET Instructors.
  3. In the event that an individual on the list ends their affiliation or employment with the company on their listing, they must update their contact information in order to remain listed. RESNET will remove individuals upon notification by the listed company that they are no longer affiliated. Such individuals must submit the application to renew/update with updated contact information in order to reinstate their listing.
  4. RESNET standards require that all Certified RESNET Instructors shall annually meet the requirements for professional development described in RESNET Standards section 204.2 and shall indicate which professional development requirements were fulfilled on their annual application.

Minimum Requirements for Renewing RESNET Instructor Certification

Professional Development for Rater Instructor (204.2):

  1. RESNET Instructor Renewal (204.2):
  • Rater Instructors shall complete a two-hour RESNET roundtable each year and also every three years:
  • Document 12 hours of attendance at RESNET Conferences or other conferences approved by RESNET and
  • Complete 18 hours of RESNET pre-approved Professional Development courses delivered by RESNET Accredited Training Providers or other events or venues approved by RESNET. Additional documented hours of attendance at RESNET Conferences qualify under this provision

(Professional Development requirements for RESNET Certified Instructors will be changing January 1, 2018 per addendum 24.)

A person that is both a Certified RESNET Instructor and Quality Assurance Designee shall have to complete both the two-hour RESNET roundtable for a RESNET Instructor and the two-hour roundtable for Quality Assurance Designees. RESNET Instructors and QA Designees selecting the conference or Professional Development option need only comply with the 12-hour requirement one time, i.e. 12 hours is not required for each position.