Home >Who We Are>Standards>RESNET Committees>Standards Development Committee 300

Standards Development Committee 300

The RESNET Standards Development Committee 300 is responsible to oversee RESNET’s technical standards related to the inspections, testing, and calculations that impact an energy rating and amending those standards. Committee members are:

SDC 300 Members 

Chair: Gayathri Vijayakumar, Steven Winter Associates, Inc; Producer


Mike Bowman, Dunedin Refrigeration; User

Thiel Butner, Pando Alliance; Producer

Terry Clausing, Drysdale & Associates; Producer

Philip Fairey, Florida Solar Energy Center; General Interest

Ian Finlayson, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources; General Interest

Dean Gamble, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; General Interest

Charlie Haack, NAIMA; User

Edwin Hensley, Habitat for Humanity

Kelly Parker, Guaranteed Watt Savers; Producer

Dave Roberts, National Renewable Energy Laboratory; General Interest

Rob Salcido, PNNL; General Interest

Brian Shanks, Beazer Homes; User

Josh Spence, PEG; Producer

Robby Schwarz, ThinkTank

Jason Toves, ICC; General Interest


SDC 300 Calculations SC


  • CHAIR: Dave Roberts, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Brian Christensen, Residential Energy Management Services
  • Philip Fairey, Florida Solar Energy Center
  • Charlie Haack, North American Insulation Manufacturers Association
  • William Ranson, DuPont
  • Robert Salcido, Salcido Solutions
  • Nick Sisler, Ekotrope
  • Gayathri Vijayakumar, Steven Winter Associates
  • Scott Horowitz, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (non-voting member)


The Calculations Subcommittee provides technical support to SDC 300 on topics related to ANSI/RESNET/ICC 301 and portions of the Mortgage Industry National HERS® Standards related to calculations and HERS® software accreditation.  The SC reviews Interpretation Requests (IRs), Continuous Maintenance Proposals (CMPs), and Innovative Design Requests (IDRs) assigned to it by the SDC 300 Chair, and develops CMPs in response to New Work Initiatives (NWIs) assigned by SDC 300 Chair.



Completed Amendments to ANSI/RESNET/ICC 301-2019:

Addendum A, Dishwashers, Clothes Washers and Dryers

Addendum B, Clarifications, HVAC Quality Installation Grading, and Dehumidification

Amendments under development to ANSI/RESNET/ICC 301-2019:

Addendum C, Duct Leakage to Outside Defaults

Addendum D, CO2 Rating Index

The 2022 edition of 301:

  • Updates recommended by the RESNET Software Consistency Committee
  • Definitional changes to align with Standard 380
  • Updated default framing factors
  • Updates to mechanical ventilation calculations
  • Updates to attic/eave insulation calculations

SDC 300 Enclosures SC Members

  • CHAIR: Robby Schwarz, BuildTank
  • Brian Lieburn, Dupont
  • Brian Stanfill, McGrann Associates
  • Dan Wildenhaus, TRC Companies
  • Kelly Parker, Guaranteed Watt Savers
  • Paul Gay, US-EcoLogic
  • Mikael Salonvaara, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Terry Clausing, Drysdale & Associates
  • Brett Welch, Knauf Insulation
  • Jeffery Love, Sustainable Comfort Inc.
  • Nathan Kleist, Energy Diagnostics
  • Rick Duncan, Spray Polyurethane Foam Alliance
  • Paul Duffy, Paul Duffy & Associates/ACC-CPI Spray Foam Coalition


The RESNET SDC 300 Enclosures Sub-Committee is tasked with maintaining and improving RESNET’s visual inspection requirements.  These requirements are primarily described in Appendix A and Appendix B of ANSI/RESNET/ICC 301-2014 and 2019.


Projects working on for the 2022 edition of 301:

  • Inspection requirements related to framing factors
  • How to properly evaluate the presence of ‘advanced’ framing
  • Better guidance regarding duct insulation
  • Partnering with ASTM to develop an infrared (IR) insulation inspection standard
  • Adding inspection protocols and definitions that will be needed for use with the HVAC Grading Standard (under development now, BSR/RESNET/ACCA 310-20xx)

SDC 300 Equipment SC Members

  • CHAIR: Mike Bowman, Dunedin Refrigeration
  • Mike Browne, Advanced Building Analysis, LLC
  • Sara Devico, BER
  • Dean Gamble, US EPA
  • Gary Nelson, Energy Conservatory
  • Chris Urbanus, Burgess Construction Consultants
  • Iain Walker, Lawrence Berkley Laboratory


Upcoming Meetings

To register for an upcoming meeting, please view this link.

  • May 21st, 2024, 10:00AM-11:00AM PDT

Previous Meetings  – Click the date to view the recording